• THE COMMITMENT Premieres in France at boyOHboy Films Marathon

    April 22, 2020
  • The Commitment, directed by and starring Albert, will premiere in France at the boyOHboy Films Marathon in Paris, running October 16-18, 2020. The festival's page dedicated to The Commitment can be viewed here.

    boyOHboy is a nonprofit organization of that connects worldwide filmmakers with the Paris audience, in order to fight against discriminations towards gay youth in Europe. The boyOHboy Films Marathon is a cinematographic event which will take place in the course of the full year. It will begin in March with quality weekly screenings throughout Paris, both in schools and festivals, and will end with a three-day international film festival with more than 100 talented directors from around the world presenting their work. Since the law on gay marriage in France, the rise of violence and discrimination towards those in the gay communities has increased considerably. The mission of boyOHboy is to use art, culture, and films in particular, to bring public awareness on sensitive matters such as love and its various forms of expression. While the school screenings will offer educational and cultural support (workshops, debates, etc.), public screenings will offer a rather cultural and creative view on the theme of gay love, through quality films.

    The Commitment stars Albert and Jason Lane Fenton as gay adoptive parents, Mary Niederkorn as the social worker facilitating the adoption, and Kerri Patterson as the Asian-American birthmother. Richard Propes of The Independent Critic wrote, "Emotional resonance, joy and heartbreak...indeed, this is a film that would be difficult to pull off if not for its tremendously talented cast." The film has screened at over 40 film festivals on six continents and won multiple awards, most notably edging out Oscar®-nominated Moonrise Kingdom to win a 2013 NASW Media Award. The film is available at Amazon.com on the compilation Green Briefs. The film is produced by Albert, Richard Possemato, Aaron Howland, and Seth Howland.